The Ford Torino Page Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General Discussion > Project Updates
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

1972 GTS - Barn Find

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 22>
Author
Admin Group
Admin Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Eliteman76 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 1972 GTS - Barn Find
    Posted: 10-December-2010 at 6:01AM
I figure as I am a resident here, I might as well set up a thread here, even though a majority of my car is done.
Well, projects like this one are never done...
Going to start off with an old video, and work from there up.
Starting in the Beginning. June, 2001.

{click to play} 

I'll update this as needed.
Food for thought. I don't get it, but last time I checked, my home "blog" on Ford Muscle had 21,450 hits thus far.
Anyways...welcome to the insanity.
Editing from the beginning:

I have been posting my progress on one or two other sites dedicated to Torinos, but here is the beginning of the progress, where this mess started from, and incase you wonder where my handle came from.

Progress shots of my 1972 Gran Torino Sport. Should be in order, more or less. I suffer CRS so at times, things get forgotten.
Background for those who don't know me much;
I found my Torino, an original Q code 4 speed 351c CJ setup, HD suspension, sitting in a small barn. Paid $600. Tore it apart, and decided to drive 3,200 miles to get another "puzzle car" shell, from a guy I got to know and become friends with over the last decade.
What's I've done:
Redid original 4 speed car frame front to back, boxed the lower front and rear control arms, all suspension parts new, upgraded my front brakes with the adaption of 12.5" rotors and dual piston calipers off a 1999 CVPI, upgraded to a lincoln dual diaphram booster with larger master cylinder.

**I am still due to get 1976 police drums out back. 
Replaced/battled with passenger wheelhouse and quarter panel.