The Ford Torino Page Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Powertrain Specific Forum > Transmissions
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

C6 Rebuild

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Danno Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: C6 Rebuild
    Posted: 04-October-2017 at 2:41AM
Any expert troubleshooters out there?  I did a master rebuild kit overhaul on 72 C6.  Not working out too well.  I don't have good engagement.  Here are the line pressure readings I got.  Any ideas on what to check out?

I bought a really good gauge that is glycerin filled and it goes up to 300#.   So here are the readings I got last night.  Also, I disconnected the vac mod from engine vac and put a vac pump on it and gave it 20".  It holds pretty well.  I wanted to eliminate the mod as an issue, since my engine vac is kind of low.  In summary, it looks like pressure is kind of normal in P, R and N, but low/zero in all forward gears.

Start the car, and in Park I get an immediate 50# line pressure with 15" vac at idle, right around 1000 rpms. Slowly rev engine up to 1800 rpms, vac climbs to 20" pressure remains steady at 50#.  Back to idle at 1000 rpms.

P to R, pressure drops to 0, vac stays at 15", after a 6 sec delay, engine starts to load up and you see vac drop off to 11".  At that time, pressure builds back up to 50# and then moves back and forth between 50-60#.  With 50-60# and 11" I could move the car in reverse.

R to P: Pressure stays at 50# and vac jumps right back to 15"

P to R to N (quickly go through reverse right into neutral):  Pressure dropped to 0 but popped back up to 50# quickly (as soon as I was in neutral), all the while vac stayed at 15".

N to D:  Pressure immediately drops to 0 and vac stays at 15".  Nothing going on here.

D back to N: Pressure pops back up to 50# and 15".