The Ford Torino Page Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Model Specific Forum > 1972-1976 Ford and Mercury
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

New buyer. What to look for.

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Brand New Member
Brand New Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote drkness01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: New buyer. What to look for.
    Posted: 29-June-2015 at 10:51AM
I ran across a 72 Gran torino 4dr for sale in my area. The seller is asking 1750 OBO.

Im no novice to old cars but this may end up being my first ford.
What should I look for before I buy it?
I want to have a checklist before I show up.

Here is my list so far:
Frame rust
Frame damage
Body rust
Steering + suspension
Electrical "fixes"? (aka. black tape balls)
Brakes
Lights
Interior

Are there any 70's Torino specific problem areas I should be check?
Regul8r View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Regul8r Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29-June-2015 at 1:13PM
The biggest issues with our cars besides the obvious drivetrain/engine issues are all body/frame related specific to our cars(ok other cars too.)

1. Vinyl roof? ROT underneath in almost ALL cases!! IF it HAD a vinyl roof that has been removed look CLOSE at whatever body work they may have done to repair the rot holes. Front of the roof at the top of the windshield, rear of the roof above the window, lower window corners and along the top of the trunk between the window and trunk there is a separate piece of metal that completely disintegrates with a vinyl top rot issue.
2. Normal body work issues with paint, what is hidden? it should have had trim so if it doesn't look for how they repaired the holes (same for the vinyl roof trim if it isn't there.
3. Radiator core support on the bottom below the radiator is a common rot area. Very repairable.