The Ford Torino Page Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Model Specific Forum > 1968-1969 Ford and Mercury
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Basic newbie info on 68 Ranchero

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote electrohippy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Basic newbie info on 68 Ranchero
    Posted: 11-May-2006 at 5:09PM

Hey there!  Sorry if this seems a little ignorant (and long) but... well, it is!  I am a newbie to Fords, and major drive train issues in general.  I have looked for about 2 hours on the web, googling 351 and Ranchero and c4 and 289 and... Well, here's my deal:

I have acquired a pretty OK '68 Ranchero 500 to restomod, though her 289 (so I was told it is) blows oil like a Kuwait oil field. Now, there just happens to be a newly re-built (but sitting a few years) 351 on a stand in the garage where I just moved in that I can HAVE.  It includes many of the parts needed like heads, oil pan, etc., but I don't know if it's a W or a C (it was supposed to go into a 67 [or something] Mustang, if that helps ID it) I have 3 questions (for now): 

1:  How can I ID the engine definately?

2:  The Ranchero has a C4 tranny. Would a W or a C 351 work as an "easy", "bolt-on" swap with the current 289, or do I need a new tranny or bell housing or something?

3:  If this IS going to be an "easy" swap, what camshaft might be recommended (I can't find the one that may have accompanied the engine at one time) for a somewhat "muscle car lope" sound, but that won't die all the time without feathering the gas while idling?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions/help on my new project!

electrohippy View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote electrohippy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11-May-2006 at 6:12PM