The Ford Torino Page Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Powertrain Specific Forum > Transmissions
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Manual Trans for a 460- possible?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CammyB Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Manual Trans for a 460- possible?
    Posted: 27-November-2013 at 1:58AM
Good morning and happy almost Thanksgiving to everyone!
I'd really like to put a manual in my C6 '73 Gran Torino BB, but my research has led me to believe that Ford did not make any 429/460's with a manual transmission in them at the time. I'm a bit of a newbie and some of the info out there says it's possible to mount a manual to a BB, but I haven't found anything specific enough. If this is possible, what trans could handle a mild big block with minimal adaptation? Can I throw a rebuilt toploader in there; has anyone successfully done this?
Cam
1973 Gran Torino Sport
Psquare75 View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Member of the Stroker Club

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Psquare75 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27-November-2013 at 3:11AM
I swapped my 79 F100 to stick, it's a 460 truck that had a C6. 

Parts used: 

Bellhousing 351M/400 OEM
L&L Products flywheel/clutch
TKO 500 transmission
All OEM linkages.

Wasn't cheap, but it works great as a daily. 

Paul
77 XR7 460/C6/3.00:1 *SOLD*
78 XR7 523/C6/3.5:1
79 F100 460/TKO500/3.25:1
'I also have some left over potatoes-I understand you can generate electricity from them'- Foote500
CammyB View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CammyB Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28-November-2013 at 8:07AM
That's awesome, thanks for sharing your setup. I figured it had to be possible, just needed the how. Have a good thanksgiving!
Cam
1973 Gran Torino Sport
VorbottenO View Drop Down