The Ford Torino Page Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Model Specific Forum > General Automotive Technical Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Trim info

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Admin Group
Admin Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Regul8r Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Trim info
    Posted: 14-March-2015 at 3:44PM
I just posted a bunch of info on the FB page and decided to put it here for future reference.
Anyone else have input please feel free to post it!
This was done as an info for someone who does not know about the 72-79 cars but asked about what trim is worth and if it was worth his time to pull stuff he finds at yards.
This was just a guideline, I am not a proclaimed expert just trying to help... 

1. Laser stripe/full length wheel well moldings. There is a difference between front on 72 and 73. The 72 is LONGER on the front edge so the 73 will not work making the 72 a 1 yr only item. FULL LENGTH wheel well moldings, front and rear off ANY YEAR including Ranchero and wagons, these were used on the Laser strip cars. As stated the 72 is a 1yr ONLY as the front fender drops further down in the front than the later models. Document what side, frt or rear and what year model they came from.The Torino/Gran Torino/Ranchero is different than the 72-76 Montego and the 74-76 Cougar/Elite. As I said above... $75 MINIMUM for driver/repairable quality. NOS are going for $200 PLUS depending on the E-Bay bidding war and advertising on FB and the sites to get interest in them. the 72 front is the GOLDEN EGG, 1 YEAR ONLY!

2. the rear window surround trim on a 72-73 Sport/fast back roof ONLY. While you are there grab the lower vinyl roof trim as well. $100 for the surround trim, and $25-50 for the lower vinyl trim.