The Ford Torino Page Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Model Specific Forum > 1972-1976 Ford and Mercury
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Coolant Level on Reservoir - How much?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote havanariviera Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Coolant Level on Reservoir - How much?
    Posted: 05-June-2017 at 3:03AM
Hi everyone, I'm a novice, so I'm hoping to get some insight here. I have a 72 GTS, with the 351 Cleveland. I was out on Saturday for a two hour ride with air temps around 80 degrees. I got into some traffic and noticed that the temp gauge moved rather quickly from it's normal perch near C to about 3/4 of the way to H. Once the traffic subsided and I was moving again, it went back down to the normal level. I got home and took a photo of the reservoir about 5 minutes after parking. Please see the attached; it's right at the "cold" line - should the fluid be near the "hot" line on the reservoir since I had just been driving it? The next day, I look at the level after the car sat for the night and the fluid was then about 3/4" below the cold line. Does this sound typical? Or, do I need to add some 50/50 solution to the reservoir? Note, I checked for leaks and see no evidence of anything. Also, I tried to remove the radiator cap when the car was cold, and couldn't get it off. It turned, but wouldn't lift off, and I didn't want to force it - is there a trick to doing this? I was going to see if the coolant reached the top while the car was cold. Either way, I'm still not sure how much coolant should be in the reservoir when the engine is hot or cold, and what fill lines I should be adhering to. Thanks in advance.
changinlatitudes View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote changinlatitudes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05-June-2017 at 3:52AM