The Ford Torino Page Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Powertrain Specific Forum > 335 Series Engine Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Original 4300D carburetor.

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Anderslober Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Original 4300D carburetor.
    Posted: 10-January-2020 at 6:58AM
Hello forum......please be gentle....I am still learning.

I bought a nice 4300D/4sp carb for my 72 GTS/351CJ/4sp. (There was a Holley on before).

Just 2 qq`s.....what are the `appendages` on either side for? I have seen many pictures og 4300D without the `appendages`.
I am guessing something to do with A/C and idling.....my car does not have A/C or anything.....

72FordGTS View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
GTS.org Admin

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 72FordGTS Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10-January-2020 at 12:10PM
The one on the front of the carb is the throttle solenoid and the one on the rear is the choke vacuum control assembly.  Both were used on the 4300D carbs regardless of A/C or not.  The throttle solenoid was used also as an anti-diesel device, but allowing the throttle to close more when the car was shut off to prevent dieseling or run-on.
Vince

1972 Ford GTS Sportsroof - Survivor, One Family car

GTS.org Admin
Anderslober View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Anderslober Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10-January-2020 at 1:07PM
Great info...thanks. But, how come I see a lot of carbs without the `appendages`? Are the appendages necessary for normal operation?

I need the center pin/screw where the air cleaner wing nut mounts......where to buy? Or does anyone have one or similar?

Thanks.

Rockatansky View Drop Down