The Ford Torino Page Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Powertrain Specific Forum > Big Block Engine Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

surprise under the valve cover

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Billy C Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: surprise under the valve cover
    Posted: 17-December-2010 at 2:29PM
Hey kids,
Yur gona love this. So ever since I can remember I have been getting a tap in my mostly stock 74' 460 at around 2.5k rpm and up in my 72' GTS. So it wasn't really getting worse but it was starting to really bother me now that I am not a total newbie and know sounds like this are not usually good. I have also been having some mystery issues and was too lazy and fullish to check the valve train. So I finally pulled the valve cover off the side I thought the sound was coming from and checked the rocker arms and a little surprise was waiting for me under cylinder #2 exhaust rocker.

Gotta love it!! Clap  I drove 800+ miles with it like this, and the car ran great other than that sound. Still as could be at idle. That is a ford 385 series motor for you. I remember when I got the car about a year ago, before I tore it down to frame, I had two plug wires switch but quickly solved the problem. Still makes sense that one drive down the street with two wires switched would cause this. I ordered a few new ones just in case the problem has a buddy . The rest of the rockers seem good. Very little to no play. Who would have thought....

Anything else I should look for? I plan to change oil and filter too.
-Billy Conturo
Billy C View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Billy C Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19-December-2010 at 1:57PM