The Ford Torino Page Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Model Specific Forum > 1972-1976 Ford and Mercury
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Carb bogs down when leaving stop sign

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gregs72Sport Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Carb bogs down when leaving stop sign
    Posted: 13-March-2006 at 4:10PM
I am a novice when it comes to carbs! I always have visions of a million springs flying thru the air even if I get close. I bought a 72 Gran Torino not to long ago. It has the original 2BBL carb. I would like to upgrade to a small 4BBL as money allows but for now the 2BBL will have to do. Trouble is when I go to leave a stop sign or light and press on the gas the car will bog down to the point of almost stalling and then it takes hold and goes. Once its past that point it runs fine and when at idle its ok as well. Any ideas as to what is making it do this? Autozone has a Champion carb to fit the car for about 150.00. Wondering if its best to just replace the one on the car, it is 34 years old. Greg
SPLUHAR View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SPLUHAR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14-March-2006 at 6:47AM

I HAD THIS PROBLEM W/ A CORDOBA YEARS BACK.  I CHANGED ALL OF THE VACUUM HOSES, AND IT HELPED ALOT.  I WOULD SUGGEST GETTING A VACUUM GUAGE AND SEE THIS LINK.

http://www.users.bigpond.com/ergoff/vac1.htm

ALSO, GO HERE TO READ UP ON YOUR CARB. 

http://home.earthlink.net/%7Ebubbaf250/2150carb/carb01.html

A CAN OF CARB CLEANER, SPRAYED AROUND THE ENGINE BAY WHILE THE ENGINE IS RUNNING WILL HELP LOCATE VACUUM LEAKS. LISTEN FOR THE RPM'S TO GO UP WHEN YOU SPRAY AROUND ONE.  IDLE MIXTURE SCREWS SHOULD BE TURNED IN TO ABOUT 1 1/2 TURNS OUT, THEN TURNED OUT UNTIL THE HIGHEST READING ON THE VACUUM GUAGE IS ATTAINED.  CHECK TIMING.  HOPE THIS HELPS.  GOOD LUCK.