The Ford Torino Page Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Model Specific Forum > 1977-1979 Ford and Mercury
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Nylon timing gear

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 72sport Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Nylon timing gear
    Posted: 21-September-2012 at 10:32AM
I have been driving a 1977 LTD II with a 351w for the last two years as my daily driver.  It had 53k on it when I started driving it.  To make sure it would be reliable I rebuilt the brakes and put a new heater core, water pump, and fuel pump along with basic tune up parts.  The car now has 82k on it.  It has been very reliable, but I started to think about the nylon timing it probably has.  I kinda checked the chain slack by turning the crank with a wrench and watching the distributor rotor.  The chain appears to show some slack, but doesn't appear to be excessively loose.  The obvious questions are. Does a 77 351w have a nylon timing gear? If so should I change the timing set?  Has anybody had a nylon gear fail on them?
Tom
1972 Gran Torino Sport 4Spd
1974 Montego wagon "GT" with GT hood, correct buckets
seats, console, and floor shift
2013 Focus 5 speed- Daily driver
75GranMan View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 75GranMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21-September-2012 at 11:19AM
Oh yeah,It will fail.just a question of when.good winter project changing that one over,My guess the age would add to the brittleness of the gear also.ever find any small particles in the base during an oil change?
John 75Gran Torino 4spd
Tighten it down until it snaps and then back it off a half turn!
Dan the ranchero man View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dan the ranchero man Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21-September-2012 at 12:23PM