The Ford Torino Page Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General Discussion > Project Updates
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Plain Brown Wrapper

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 111213
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote californiajohnny Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18-December-2017 at 1:56PM
i added phenolic spacers on most of my cars yes it helped with some that were boiling over, the cranking issue is when they sit more than a week...
JOHN
74 GRAN TORINO S&H CLONE
74 CORVETTE COUPE CUSTOM
90 S10 BLAZER 4X4 LIFTED
77 CELICA CUSTOM
75 V8 MONZA SUPERCHARGED
79 COURIER VERT. SLAMMED
75 VEGA V6 5 SPD
70 CHEV C10 P/U
unlovedford View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote unlovedford Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19-December-2017 at 1:08PM
The car rarely runs over 165 degrees. I have a 160 degree thermostat, aluminum radiator, etc. Mechanical gauge. I can sit in traffic for an hour, shut it off and it will fire up instantly in 1 minute, 5 minutes or 3 hours - no difference. It is not flooding, as there is zero gas in the carb or the line. I would agree with it boiling out, except no odor, no flooding (actually never floods), no leaks, and no vapor trail. If it sits overnight, I can stand over the carb, work the linkage and no gas squirting in the carb. Also I can pull off the fuel line from the pump to carb and it is empty. As mentioned, it did not do this until we did some mods to the engine - which should not have made any difference. I may try a different carb to see what happens, if I can find one.

It just disappears.
Joe
1972 GTSquire Wagon
1972 Torino Wagon
1976 Torino       
1968 Cougar XR7-First batch
1972 Torino 460
1989 BroncoII/Jeeps/Titanimous
Popeye and Brutus (Rams)
Rockatansky View Drop Down