The Ford Torino Page Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Model Specific Forum > 1972-1976 Ford and Mercury
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Rag joint replacement

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote n2fordwagons Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Rag joint replacement
    Posted: 11-July-2014 at 8:01AM
Hey guys,

I need to replace my rag joint, something I've never done before.  Any suggestions on how to tackle this?  The shop manual gives a brief list, but it's not helpful to a novice like me.  Should I go at it from the outside of the car, from the top or bottom?  I noticed the head on the bolt that comes out the side of the joint looks to have a special head on it, not your typical hex head.  I'm assuming I'll need a special socket or wrench for that?  Or, am I looking at the wrong bolt?

Also, keep in mind I have a 460, so room may be somewhat limited compared to a 351M or 400.  I'm assuming the 460 takes up more room.

Or, a local shop has quoted me 1 1/2 hours of labor ($130).  There's no telling how long this job will take me.  Maybe I'd be better off letting them do it??  But, I could sure use that $130 for something else.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.
Jeff

71 Torino Brougham
72 Gran Torino Squire
mcford View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mcford Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11-July-2014 at 9:14AM
pull the stub shaft an do it on the workbench.  undo bolt/nut at gear box.  undo boot at firewall inside the car and then undo bolt inside car where shaft connects to steering column. then you can remove the shaft with the rag joint and replace the piece while at the workbench.
Mike
n2fordwagons View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote n2fordwagons Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11-July-2014 at 10:02AM