The Ford Torino Page Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Powertrain Specific Forum > Small Block Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Can you reseat piston rings?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pmaenner Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Can you reseat piston rings?
    Posted: 21-July-2022 at 1:11AM
Good Morning everyone,

Been awhile, I was overseas and just got back.  I am having an issue with my gran torino elite, I think it is bad rings.  I need some advice from more experienced engine guys and gals as I am a novice when it comes to building engines.

Last year, I rebuilt the 351w in my torino, nothing crazy, just higher compression and a hotter cam.  I broke the engine in for 20 minutes, changed the oil, and then drove it for another 400 miles, I was pretty strict in following the engine break in for the rings (or at least I thought I was).  By this time, I was getting ready for a deployment, so I fogged the engine and stored the car.

I got back, changed the oil, primed the engine, and fired it up with no issues.  I've been driving it around for another 200-300 miles.  Mostly highway, some spirited driving around the back roads.  Yesterday, I was doing some errands.  After my second stop, I noticed white/grey smoke out the exhaust wen I started up, disappeared as soon as I started driving. I thought it was a bad head gasket, so I drove it home and looked it over.  Oil was still clean, coolant was still clean.  When I ran the car, there were no bubbles in the coolant.  I did a compression test and all of my cylinders were low.  When I did a wet test, all the cylinder pressures increased.  It was about 120 psi dry, and 180 psi wet. So, I think the issue is bad rings.