The Ford Torino Page Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Powertrain Specific Forum > Transmissions
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

New to auto trans, need advice on my C6

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Odranoel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: New to auto trans, need advice on my C6
    Posted: 09-August-2011 at 8:13AM
Being that I am European I have no experience in troubleshooting automatic transmissions... Obviously the one in my Torino is acting up and I would need some hints on what to do with it: the selector works fine, it shifts easily through all options, although if I am in park on my driveway it does offer some resistance to get out of park and into reverse and eventually does let go with a bit of a "clank". One in D it takes off properly but will not shift, I can however select first or second gear manually but third never engages. If I go back to D after manually selecting second it just stays in second but eventually goes back to first if I slow down to a stop. If I really floor it in first second will engage but with a pretty definite jolt. 

I am thinking of bringing it to a transmission shop, but I would like to know what to expect or if there is anything I can try at home (I am handy and I have tools, I just completely lack the knowledge on automatic transmissions).
1972 Gran Torino
Psquare75 View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Member of the Stroker Club

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Psquare75 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09-August-2011 at 8:28AM
1. is your driveway on a hill? Park always offers some resistance, at least on every Fomoco C4/C6 I've had. 

Paul
77 XR7 460/C6/3.00:1 *SOLD*
78 XR7 523/C6/3.5:1
79 F100 460/TKO500/3.25:1
'I also have some left over potatoes-I understand you can generate electricity from them'- Foote500
Guests View Drop Down